Mission Statement

Develop responsible and productive members of society

Strasburg School District 31-J

April 10th, 2019 @ 5:00 p.m.

Board of Education

John Sampson, President

Nancy Taylor, 1st Vice President

Connie Lybarger, 2nd Vice President

Michael Marrero, Secretary

Julie Winter, Treasurer

Strasburg School Board strives to follow our guiding principles:

T – Transparency

R – Respect

U – Unity

T – Trust

H – Honesty

Agenda

SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD ROOM

Meetings are held in the East video-conference room – Room 110. Please enter the High School through the circle drive entrance.

Note: This meeting will start with a three-hour executive session – regular business will begin at approximately 8:00 p.m.

Board meeting time is dedicated to the mission and goals of the Strasburg 31J School District. Your opinion is valuable to the Board. There is an opportunity during request from patrons to address the Board.

Members of the public who intend to offer public comment to the Board must sign up for comment with the Superintendent at least 24 hours before each Board meeting. The Board President has discretion to call on those who have signed up and set the order of speakers.

Presentations must be no more than three minutes.

There are many other ways to become involved with the schools such as district accountability committees, booster clubs, classroom parent volunteers, etc. For information, feel free to contact any of the schools or the administration office.

I. Opening of the Meeting

- a. Call to Order
- b. Roll Call
- c. Pledge of Allegiance
- d. Adoption of Agenda

II. Executive Session – Scheduled for 3 hours

a. The Board will move into executive session for a conference with the District attorney for the purpose of receiving legal advice on specific legal questions.

III. Request from public to address the Board of Education

a. HMS Spring play presentation

IV. Report of the Superintendent

- a. Salary Schedules First Review
- b. Coach List

V. Board Action items

- a. Personnel
 - i. Resignations:
 - 1. Marvin Williams, Custodian
 - 2. Jeff Giger, SHS Teacher/coach
 - 3. Amy Jordan, HMS Math Teacher
 - ii. New hires:
 - 1. Melissa Averitt, custodian
 - iii. Renewal of Classified Staff
 - iv. Renewal of Certified Staff
 - v. Updated sub list
- b. Approval of UIP
 - i. District UIP
 - ii. PCHS UIP
 - iii. HS UIP
 - iv. HMS UIP
 - v. SES UIP

VI. Consent Agenda

- a. Approval of the minutes of the March 20th, 2019 Regular Board Meeting.
- b. Approval of claims, accounts, and financial statements, as appropriate. As per Board action, financial statements will be mailed out no later than 12 working days from the beginning of the month. The Board confirms approval of financials at its next regular meeting.

VII. Adjournment

Strasburg School District 31J 56729 East Colorado Avenue Strasburg, Colorado 80136

Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Education March 20th, 2019 (7:00 P.M.) – SHS – East Video Conference Room #110

CALL TO ORDER:

Meeting was called to order at 6:30 P.M. by Board President, John Sampson

ATTENDANCE: (Roll Call)

Board members present were: Connie Lybarger, Michael Marrero, John Sampson, Nancy Taylor and Julie Winter.

Others present were Monica Johnson (Superintendent of Schools), Jeff Rasp (SHS Principal), Carol Wethington (SES Principals), Sara Turrell, (HMS Principal) Stephanie Velez (Secretary to the BOE), I-70 Scout, and other members of the district and public.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE: Mr. Michael Marrero

AGENDA APPROVAL:

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Michael Marrero, it is hereby resolved to approve the amended agenda.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

REQUEST FROM PATRONS TO ADDRESS THE BOARD OF EDUCATION:

Elementary 4th and 5th grade students gave a presentation to the BOE regarding the need for more playground equipment for the 4th and 5th grade area.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Michael Marrero, it is hereby resolved to move into Executive Session at 7:27p.m. Executive Session adjourned at 8:04pm Regular Session resumed at 8:05pm <u>AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER</u> NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT: (Mrs. Johnson addressed the BOE on each of the following items.)

Superintendent Johnson updated the BOE on the following topics, Legislative Updates to include, supplemental budget, comprehensive sex education bill, mill levy equalization. Mrs. Johnson also handed out new signature cards, discussed a special meeting for the district strategic planning and reviewed the response she gave to the Building Authority for Adams County.

BOARD DISCUSSION:

BOARD ACTION ITEMS:

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Julie Winter, it is hereby resolved to approve the renewal of all Principal contracts for the 2019-2020 school year.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0 On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Connie Lybarger, it is hereby resolved to approve the hiring of Brandi Marrero, SHS assistant track coach, Kim Harris, SHS assistant track coach, and the updated substitute list.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Connie Lybarger, it is hereby resolved to approve the resignation of Karen Furstenau, Pre-School Director.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Michael Marrero it is hereby resolved to approve the additional positions for the 2019-2020 school year of a split Spanish Teacher, 6th Grade Teacher, High School Math Interventionist, Middle School Special Education Teacher, Dean/AP for Middle School and Elementary School and an extra duty Dean for the High School.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Connie Lybarger it is hereby resolved to approve the DAC Members as presented.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Julie Winter it is hereby resolved to approve changing the April 2019 board meeting time to include executive session with attorney's from 5:00 to 8:00pm and starting the regular board session at 8:00pm.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Connie Lybarger it is hereby resolved to approve the 2019-2020 school calendar as presented.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER NAY: NONE – MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

On a motion by Nancy Taylor and seconded by Michael Marrero it is hereby resolved to approve the reallocation of funds to categories from unallocated contingency.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER

NAY: NONE - MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

CONSENT AGENDA: BOARD MINUTES AND CLAIMS AND FINANCIALS

On a motion by Connie Lybarger and seconded by Michael Marrero, it is hereby resolved to approve the minutes and financial packet for the February 2019 board of education meeting as presented.

AYE: LYBARGER, MARRERO, SAMPSON, TAYLOR, WINTER

NAY: NONE - MOTION CARRIED: 5-0

ADJOURNMENT:

John Sampson, President

Date

Julie Winter, Treasurer